N95 8GB Firmware v20.0.016 Available – Automatic Screen Rotation Is A Go

New N95 8GB Firmware

We had previously reported about the upcoming N95 8GB firmware v20.0.016, the good news is that it is now available via the Nokia Software Updater (via: AAS). The firmware as usual brings us some bug fixes and improvements, but this time it brings a new feature too – Automatic accelerometer based screen rotation a.k.a. the N82. Other changes include:

  • Improvements in HTML format handling from Gmail IMAP server.
  • WLAN, BT and USB connectivity improvements.
  • Improvements to the Switch application.
  • Stability in the Gallery when there is a lot of content.
  • Startup functionality improvements
  • The browser also gets some attention with improvements to embedded video functionality while sending email via browser flash plugin.

Make sure you do a full backup before flashing via NSU and it is best to re-install applications and only restore contacts, calender, notes and bookmarks. This firmware as always will still not be available for operator branded handsets and for some product codes. Full changelog after the break.

New features:

  • Automatic Screen Rotation (ASR)
  • Support for new combo memory added

Browser:

  • Improvement when creating a voice call from WAP page.
  • Improvements to embedded video functionality in browser.
  • Sending email via browser flash plugin improvements.

Messaging:

  • Mail in HTML format handling from Gmail IMAP server improved.

Connectivity:

  • WLAN connection stability improvements
  • BT connection stability improvements with certain BT headsets
  • USB connection stability improvements

Telephony:

  • Voice call handling improvements after certain type U.S.S.D message receiving.
  • Stability improvements to gallery for case when there’s lot of content in Gallery
  • Improvements to switch application
  • Voicemail icon handling improvements

Localization corrections:

  • Deletion of all contacts now possible even more than 6000 contacts in phonebook
  • Startup functionality improvements

If you found this post useful, why not subscribe to the RSS Feed.

34 thoughts on “N95 8GB Firmware v20.0.016 Available – Automatic Screen Rotation Is A Go”

  1. one more question, when v wil upgrade to new firmware, than only phone memory stuff wud b deleted or do v have to lose mass memory things also?

  2. I did have a few issues with this update, nothing major. Installed the latest NSU first, on an XP machine. Backed up phone memory to mass memory and this restored all my personal settings and themes after update. Contacts, calender and notes were unaffected. However random programmes disappeared in the update. Screenshot, Share and the installed N Gage demos disappeared. All but N Gage demos restored using (new)PC Suite and Ovi and Flickr could only be restored from Beta Labs. Overall though it went well, the screen rotation is brilliant.

  3. thx for guidance, n two more questions. What this combo memory is? N do this firmware allow us to view youtube videos in original browser.

  4. I got the v20.0.016 but how does the ASR work, is it a setting somewhere? coz it does not auto-rotate as far as I can see unless i’m missing the obvious! enlighten me please!

  5. @Abdo

    I had the same problem. What i did was back-up my mass memory and did a REFORMAT on it. I only transferred back my images and music files. I just re-installed all apps like N-gage games and themes. Now I got my Music player working. hope this might help….

  6. why is v20.0.016 not available for my product code (0557135)?

    can someone please help me out coz i really want to update

  7. …well, i dont think im having any problem with my N95-1 right now, i just replace the 1GB memory card with 4GB and, all im doing now is to transfer my file to the new card but, im afraid to upgrade with all that i have read on the upgrading issue but I’ll very much love to have ASR on my phone, currently my firmware is V20.0.015, can anyone please advice…

  8. Recently I upgraded my N95 8GB [Code : 0557631] from v15.0.015 to v20.0.016. Ever since I upgraded, my net connection stopped working. I used my SIM in another low end Nokia and oops IT WORKS. So, what I want to know is whether v20.0.016 has any issues on net connectivity. I has also checked up with my service provider AIRTEL, where we manully did the settings. Still no improvement. Anybody have a solution for this.

  9. Recently I upgraded my N95 8GB [Code : 0557631] to v20.0.016. Ever since then I am not able to connect to net. Whereas, the same SIM when used even in a low end Nokia works perfectly. So there is no issue with the service provider [AIRTEL]. Anyone has a solution for this.

  10. upgraded to my 95 8gb to V20.0.016. also installed accelerometer ASR not working ….it workes on EmTube…how can i use ASR on all application nd gallery

  11. what is touchless control interface all about ?is it available in the new firmware of n95 8gb?plz enlighten me.

  12. hey raj,if u have connectivity problem with wlan then u should manually enter the ip address,dns etc in settings of ur phone,if gprs then i dunno.

  13. how can i update my firmware. i am having N95 8GB phone… and its version is outdated… i need this update for automatic screen rotation… so please help…

Leave a Reply

